The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

I found this tag on My Little Book Blog – and although it was originally posted back in 2016 I quite liked some of the questions, and it will give a little information in to what kind of reader that I am.

As there are 50 questions I will try to keep my answers short too, so if you want further information then you can just comment below.

Alright, here it goes..

1. What was the last book you read?

The Flight of the Starling by Lisa Heathfield

2. Was it a good one?

Yes, so good – I laughed and I cried and I smiled and I loved it

3. What made it good?

Heathfield’s writing style is just bloody fantastic  – you can read my full review later this week

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Yes yes yes, most definitely. In fact, I recommend it to all that are currently reading this

5. How often do you read?

I try to read a little bit every day but if I get in a real bad reading slump then I might not finish a book in months, or even pick one up

6. Do you like to read?

Of course

7.What was the last bad book you read?

Ayden’s Choice by Sam Felix

8. What made you dislike it?

I just didn’t enjoy it, I struggled to connect with the characters which made it more difficult to read

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

I used to, but not any more – I think I will stick to being a reader. I have written short stories, and pieces of poetry but I have never shared them with anyone

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Yes, Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig and When Breathe Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi are both that really made me sit down and change the way I view certain aspects in my life, and it changed my view point on past experiences also

11. Do you read fan fiction?

Yes, well I did, especially when I was about 16/17 and a huge Gleek, although I have not read any recently

12. Do you write fan fiction?

Yes, and unfortunately it is still out there on the big world wide web – I’m not the best author

13. What’s your favorite book?

A lot of people don’t really get this when I say this but Looking for Alaska by John Green is my favourite book, by far. It’s also a book that I can read over, and over again

14. What’s your least favorite book?

Ugh, the Host by Stephanie Meyer – it was another book that I really just couldn’t get into no matter how hard I tried. And because I kept trying to read it, I began to really dislike it to the point where I am yet to finish it

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

I do prefer physical books but I love using my little kindle – it has become my best friend over recent months

16. When did you learn to read?

I was quite young, I know I could read a fair bit before starting reception

17. What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

I used to love reading anything by Roald Dahl, or the Biff and Chip series’

18. What is your favorite book series?

Either Harry Potter or Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children or the Mortal Instruments series

19. Who is your favorite author?

Enid Blyton or Roald Dahl

20. What is your favorite genre?

I read a hell of a lot of YA, so I guess I’d have to say YA but I am partial to crime and mystery too

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

Gah, this is difficult – urm Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter novels

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

Of course, if the book is well written then that is exactly what it should do

23. Which book do you wish had a sequel?

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard, I absolutely loved this book but I also want more

24. Which book do you wish DIDN’T have a sequel?

I can’t think of one at the minute, but I tend to only read stand alone novels, with a few exceptions of course

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

It can take anywhere from an hour or two to a month

26. Do you like when books become movies?

It all depends on the casting for me

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

City of Bones, from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare – it has so much potential but it was just lost

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

the Harry Potter series, although I wish there were aspects of the books that were included in the movies

29. Do you read newspapers?

Only sometimes

30: Do you read magazines?

Occasionally

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Magazines, although I don’t typically read either of them all that often

32. Do you read while in bed?

All of the time

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Sometimes haha

34. Do you read while in the car?

Weirdly, I can only read my kindle when in the car/bus/train, as reading a paper book makes me feel a little travel sick

35. Do you read while in the bath?

Yes, every time

36. Are you a fast reader?

Yes, well I can be but it all depends on the book

37. Are you a slow reader?

Not really, but if I am not 100% into a book then I will read it a lot slower than if I totally loved it

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

Either all tucked up in bed, or Marden Quarry – it’s so peaceful

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

No, not really. Especially if I am enjoying the book

40. Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

No, I usually have music playing in the background. I hate being in complete silence

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My Granda, for sure. He used to read to me on a regular basis

42. What book is next on your list to read?

I haven’t picked out my next read yet, but it has to be something from my YALC TBR

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

I think I was about 7 or 8, I was reading ahead of my age during my school years

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

Again, Enid Blyton or Roald Dahl

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

John Green, Juno Dawson, Sara Barnard or E. Lockhart – the list goes on

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

J.K Rowling for sure, or Cassandra Claire

47.What book have you reread the most?

Looking for Alaska by John Green

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

You know, anything by Charles Dickens, or the Bronte sisters

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

When I was at school, we did not read books with diverse characters so I think that any non-problematic books with diverse protagonists would be ideal for schools

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

Honestly, I don’t know

And there we have it, all 50 questions answered.

I’d now like to tag Zoe, Liv, Rebecca, Bradley, Sarah and Sophie, as well as every one who has read this. Let me know if you’ve decided to answer the tag over on your blog

signature

3 thoughts on “The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

    • TSDDBlog says:

      I’m glad you agree with me on Looking for Alaska, I just love it 😍 and hey I love a good smelling book as much as the next book worm but I’ve definitely got a bond with my little kindle 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

